Calorie Gallery-Day 3

boiled eggs rivitas & extra light philli 258 cals

boiled eggs rivitas & extra light philli 258 cals

Day 3 of the calorie gallery hope this is not boring you?! I am finding it so helpful to do this it’s really making me think before just popping something into my mouth without recording it with http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ or photographing it to put on here. On my first post today I wrote about the decisions behind the eggs, rivitas and extra light philli so if you are looking at this photo thinking I’m a right weirdo see my earlier blogs!

Tuscan Chicken & Orzo soup (Glorious Soup) mixed salad with balsamic vinegar & 65g tuna-241 cals

Tuscan Chicken & Orzo soup (Glorious Soup) mixed salad with balsamic vinegar & 65g tuna-241 cals

My lunch was so yum I wished it would never end but then again I was really full afterwards! If you have not tried any of the ‘Glorious’ soups range yet you are missing a treat! They have a ‘skinny’ and a normal range but don’t be deceived by the skinny range soups, still check the labels, as the some of the soups in the non skinny range are actually lower calories. This one is my fave so far as its so filling and tasty and only 96 cals for half of the tub so you could have the whole lot if you wanted to! Unfortunately my husband wanted the other half so I had to make do with a salad and tuna to bulk it out a bit 😉 It’s amazing, when you don’t have bread with soup,  how much other stuff you can have for less calories and the nutritional content is much better for you!

1 x raspberry yo yo roll-27 cals

1 x raspberry yo yo roll-27 cals

Well hello there bear!! Where have you been hiding? Oh behind that fig leaf?! I saw these in the supermarket today and have never tried them before. Each pack contains 2 yo yo rolls and from what I can tell they are basically blended up fruit & veg that’s then baked and rolled up into a yo yo? Strange but a lovely sweet hit of fruitiness for only 27 calories. The bears have a pretty cool website too http://www.bearnibbles.co.uk/yo-yos/

baby portobello mushrooms with 50g 10% fat feta - 108 cals

baby portobello mushrooms with 50g 10% fat feta – 108 cals

By dinner time I still had 674 calories left woo hoo! So I set about working out what deliciousness I could have!  I absolutely LOVE mushrooms.  They are so versatile and really low calories and fat.  So I decided to make them really fattening by adding cheese to them!! That’s the beauty of feta cheese though -this one is the Apetina 10% fat one and only 87cals per 50g which was a quarter of the pack I bought. The photo shows them pre-oven. I just added one spray of 1cal olive oil, a bit of salt & pepper, a clove of garlic chopped up and spread around the oven dish, about 15/20 mins in the oven and the outcome is amazing! Garlicky cheesy mushrooms!!

what a lotta veg! 149 cals to be precise!

what a lotta veg! 149 cals to be precise!

This is all the veg I roasted -just for me!! It looks a lot but if there is one thing I can do well its eat a LOT of veg! I really like veg, I even love the word! I get really excited if I go somewhere like waitrose or M&S (on the odd occasion) and see a veg that I’ve not seen before!  I also love the veg stalls at farmers markets and seeing the veg with all the mud still on it. We have found a really good farm shop not too far from our house that we are going to try there instead of buying it from the supermarket.  I’ve also been looking into having an Abel & Cole organic veg box delivered but I have never ever done food shopping on line as I like choosing food myself, I like to touch and smell fruit and veg so I can tell how ripe it is but I’m sure the guys at Abel & Cole know their onions 😉  Do you think I used the word ‘veg’ enough in my above paragraph?!

Chicken breast (roasted with spices chilli/cumin/paprika) roasted veg & tomatoes, roasted mushrooms with cubes of feta (50g)-532 cals

Chicken breast (roasted with spices chilli/cumin/paprika) roasted veg & tomatoes, roasted mushrooms with cubes of feta (50g)-532 cals

Et Voila!! Roasted free range corn fed chicken breast, with cheesy garlicky mushrooms and roasted vegetables. No sauce, no gravy because if you stick a few cherry tomatoes in when you roast your veg you can squish them once they are out and on your plate and they give enough juice to add a bit of moisture for no extra calories!!

one of my 5 a day?!?! 129cals

one of my 5 a day?!?! 129cals

No day would be complete without my dear old friend Mr Choc! Tonight though you may notice there is a little added extra treat?! That’s because I had enough calories left to have my 6 squares of Aldi praline chocolate (59p for the small bars and it tastes amazeballs!) and also 1 x cadburys ‘Minty Crunch Bisc Bits’. A total of 129 cals which brings me to a grand total of 1187 cals. I wish I had been this accurate at adding up when I was doing my GCSEs and wish I could budget my finances as well as I can my calories! Come to think of it I wish I could have budgeted my calories this well for the whole of my life up to now-lets hope I can just keep it up for the rest of my life so I get to my goal and STAY there!! Hey ho only 38lbs to go!!!!
On tomorrows blog I’m hoping to do another workout DVD review! I’ve had a cold this week but I’m feeling a lot better tonight (must be all that veg!) so hopefully I can start exercising again-I’ve really missed it for the last few days! x

This entry was posted in Calorie Gallery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment